Sunday, March 27, 2011

Old El Paso Taco Shells - Gluten Warning!

I always have some gluten free corn tortillas on hand to take with us to our weekly Moe's visit.  I normally purchase my corn tortillas at a gluten free store, but I forgot to pick them up this week.

So......I decided to purchase Old El Paso corn tortillas at my local grocery store.  I checked the ingredients and it only listed corn, palm oil and a preservative.  I thought, "ok", these should be fine.

When I got home, I immediately googled to see if they were gluten free.  Many people mentioned on the celiac forums that they were indeed gluten free.

Still not feeling 100%, I decided then to go straight to the source and call them directly.  I was shocked when the woman said, "They are NOT gluten free!".  She came to this conclusion through the numbers that were printed on the box.

PLEASE, PLEASE be sure to contact the manufacturers on products that might appear to be gluten free.  A lot of times, they are processed on the same equipment as wheat products.

1 comment:

  1. We are thinking about going gluten free for Sophie's Chrohn's so that is good to know -

    Thanks for the tip!!